Georgia Tax Law Overview

Attorney Richard Litwin

Specializing in Georgia Taxation Law

When dealing with the state of Georgia and the Georgia Department of Revenue, it is critical to enlist an attorney knowledgeable on state and local taxation, in general, and Georgia state and local taxation, in particular. Why?  Because, like any taxing authority, the Georgia Department of Revenue is relentless in its pursuit of monies owed the State.  If the Department believes that you or your business owes back taxes or is otherwise obligated to file tax returns and remit state taxes, the Department will persist in its collection efforts.  Neither the Department of Revenue nor its attorneys give up.  Persistence may be the Department's signature virtue.

At The Litwin Law Firm, P.C., you will be in the hands of a skilled attorney who specializes in George state and local taxation law. As a public speaker, mentor, and state and local tax lawyer, Richard Litwin has the vast knowledge and the seasoned experience needed by businesses and individuals facing state and local tax issues.

Handling the Full Range of State and Local Tax Law Matters

The Litwin Law Firm, P.C., based in Atlanta, represents businesses and individuals in the following state and local taxation matters:

  • Georgia state tax controversies and litigation— Representing individuals and businesses facing legal issues with the Georgia Department of Revenue and other state taxing agencies, including protests and administrative appeals and state tax litigation in court and before tax tribunals nationwide
  • State tax audits and appeals— Representing clients in Georgia Department of Revenue audits and appeals and in audits and appeals by other state taxing agencies
  • Georgia unemployment tax matters — Representing and counseling employers on non-withholding and non-payment issues as well as accounting discrepancies tied to employee/independent contractor classification for state unemployment taxes
  • Georgia sales and use tax issues — Representing clients charged with non-payment, non-withholding, collections and other issues
  • Responsible officer tax liability in Georgia — Advising and representing officers and employees on personal liability for a business' unremitted withholding taxes and unremitted sales taxes
  • Tax liens, FiFa's and state tax executions — Determining the enforceability of state tax liens placed on equipment or property arising from non-payment of taxes, as well as removal of and release of such liens
  • Voluntary disclosures to the Department of Revenue and other State Taxing Agencies — Representing businesses and individuals in proactive measures to remit unpaid state income taxes, state employer withholding taxes, or state sales and use taxes in a way that minimizes applicable civil and criminal penalties
  • Georgia corporate and personal income tax — Advising businesses, business owners and individuals on state income tax issues
  • Local tax disputes — Representing Georgia residents and out-of-state businesses and individuals in tax disputes involving municipalities, counties and other non-state taxation issues
  • Nexus analysis and studies — Representing Georgia businesses in determining state and local tax obligations in other states, including sales and use tax collection obligations, employer withholding tax obligations and state income and franchise tax obligations in other states

Specializing in State Tax Law — Call (678) 990-0600

We are a law firm that is focused on state tax law. For knowledgeable advice from an experienced tax law attorney, call or contact our law office to set up an initial appointment. 

The Litwin Law Firm, P.C., based in Atlanta, Georgia, represents clients statewide including Fulton County, Dekalb County, Decatur County, Cobb County, Douglas County, Forsyth County, Gwinnett County, Rockdale County, Henry County, Clayton County, Carroll County, Fayette County, Paulding County, Bartow County, Richmond County, Muscogee County, Columbia County, Clarke County, Chatham County Dougherty County, Glynn County and Cherokee County including the cities of Sandy Springs, Alpharetta, Roswell, Carrollton, Decatur, Marietta, Smyrna, Duluth, Cumming, Woodstock, Athens, Brunswick, Gainesville, Douglasville, Newnan, Peachtree City, Lawrenceville, Stockbridge, McDonough, Rome, Augusta, Savannah, Macon, Columbus, Albany and Dalton.

© 2014 by The Litwin Law Firm, P.C. All rights reserved. Disclaimer | Site Map | Strategic Legal Web